The Heritage & Cultural Exchange

Pierhead Building

Photo of Pierhead Building

NOW

Workers in Cardiff Docks

THEN - c1905

Photo of Pierhead Building

THEN - 1979

Photo by Gordon Hayward, staff photogarpher of National Museum Wales
© Amgueddfa Cymru - National Museum Wales

The iconic Pierhead Building was built in 1897 as the headquarters for the Bute Dock Company.  Its exterior is finished in glazed terracotta blocks supplied J. C. Edwards & Co. of Acrefair, near Ruabon in N Wales.

Currently open to the public as a Welsh history museum and exhibition. It contains a number of films and exhibits exploring Welsh history as well as spaces for use as venues for events sponsored by the Welsh Parliament/Senedd